Monthly Archives: July 2018

Kansas Drug Laws: Penalties and Charges

If you, a friend, or a family member have been arrested for possession of drugs, it’s important to know what the laws are. Each state has their own set of laws, so Kansas has a specific set of rules and guidelines that determine the penalties and charges of possessing illegal substances. If you are interested in knowing more about Kansas drug laws, keep reading below.

Classifications of Drugs

Kansas Drug Laws: Penalties and Charges

Find Out What the Kansas Drug Laws Are and What Their Penalties Are.

Drug classifications in Kansas are set up into schedules, which are schedule V, schedule IV, schedule III, schedule II, and schedule I. Different drugs will be put into different schedules depending on the severity of the drug. For example, heroin is a schedule I drug, while schedule V could deal with prescription drugs.

Class A non person Misdemeanor

This is the classification of the crime when the person is in possession of marijuana, other drugs that are considered stimulants, depressants, hallucinogens like LSD, acid, psilocybin, and steroids. If it’s the first offense, it’s up to one year in prison with a fine of $2,500. If it’s the second offense, prison time is up to three and a half years, plus a $100,000 fine.

Drug Severity Level 4 Felony

This classification is when the person charged is in possession of opiates, narcotics, or stimulants like MDMA, crack-cocaine, or meth. The penalty for this type of offense is up to three and a half years in prison with a fine of $100,000.

Knowing the Kansas drug laws are important if you or someone you love is charged with a drug offense. If you are in need of drug offense bail bonds in Wichita, KS, please call Air Capital Bail Bonds at 316-755-5142!